# Acronyms, Abbreviations, and Initialisms

Short Form Full Form
CSA Cloud Security Alliance
EA Enterprise Architecture
ITIL Information Technology Infrastructure Library (formerly)
ITOS Information Technology Operation and Support
SVS Service Value System

# Overview

ITIL is a framework designed to standardize the selection, planning, delivery, and maintenance of IT services within an enterprise. The goal is to improve efficiency and achieve predictable service delivery.

# Components

ITIL 4 consists of two key components:

  • The Four Dimensions Model
  • The Service Value System (SVS)

ITIL 4 defines four dimensions that should be considered to ensure a holistic approach to service management:

  1. Organizations and people
  2. Information and technology
  3. Partners and suppliers
  4. Value streams and processes

The SVS represents "how all the components and activities of an organization work together to facilitate value creation". The ITIL 4 SVS includes several elements:

  • Guiding principles
  • Governance
  • Service value chain
  • Continual improvement
  • Practices

# Management Practices

ITIL 4 includes 34 management practices as "sets of organizational resources designed for performing work or accomplishing an objective". For each practice, ITIL 4 provides various types of guidance, such as key terms and concepts, success factors, key activities, information objects, etc.

The 34 ITIL 4 practices are grouped into three categories:

  1. General management practices
  2. Service management practices
  3. Technical management practices

# Noteworthy

  • The goal of ITIL is to achieve predictable service delivery.

# Sources